Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Pete Seeger sings Hamish's 'Freedom Come All Ye' in 1965 *

The Hamish Henderson Archive consists of many thousands of items of correspondence, many diaries, journals, notebooks, newspaper cuttings, ephemera, photographs and other papers.

Please note: the Hamish Henderson Archive is now the property of the University of Edinburgh and is held at the Centre for Research Colletions in the Main Library. Any enquiries regarding research access to the Archive should be directed to that institution and not to this Trust.


Hamish's letters cover a sixty year period from the late 1930s to the early 2000s, with correspondents including many prominent figures in the political and cultural life of 20th century Scotland and further afield. A small sample of the correspondents (names with an asterisk refer to copies of items rather than originals):

Folksong & Folklore Gershon Legman Pete Seeger Sorley MacLean* John Willett
Dick Leith Peter Shepheard Louis MacNeice
Annie Arnott Albert L. Lloyd Leslie Shepherd Naomi Mitchison Other
Moses Asch Alan Lomax Murray Shoolbraid Edwin Morgan
Margaret Bennett Max Lüthi Ellen Stekert Edwin Muir Kenneth Alexander (Economist)
Dominic Behan Emily Lyle Belle Stewart Tom Pickard Campbell Christie (ex-STUC Secretary)
Morris Blythman Caroline Macafee Davie Stewart Tom Scott Lionel Daiches (lawyer)
Katharine Briggs Ewan MacColl Essie Stewart Victor Selwyn Alec Finlay (publisher)
Mary Brooksbank Jimmy MacBeath Sheila Stewart Sydney Goodsir Smith Victor Kiernan (Marxist historian)
Alan Bruford Cathal McConnell John Strachan Douglas Young John Lehmann (publisher)
Norman Buchan John MacDonald ('Molecatcher') Jane Turriff Sir George Martin (record producer)
Francis Collinson Matt McGinn Betsy Whyte Politics Jonathan Miller (author, broadcaster)
Peter Cooke Jimmie MacGregor Duncan Williamson John McGrath (playwright)
William Donaldson John MacInnes Linda Williamson Gordon Brown Sean O'Casey (playwright)
Richard Dorson Calum MacLean Oliver Brown Ronald Stevenson (composer)
Sheila Douglas Flora MacNeill Poetry Janey Buchan Norman Stone (historian)
Jock Duncan Willie Mathieson Norman Buchan E.P.Thomson (Marxist historian)
Helen Hartness Flanders Willie Mitchell J.K. Annand Ken Coates
Maurice Fleming William & Norah Montgomerie John E. Brookes Robin Cook
Edith Fowke John Moulden Pete Brown Lawrence Daly Organisations
Howard Glasser Tom Munnelly Andy Croft Tom Driberg
Kenneth Goldstein Seán O'Boyle Helen B. Cruickshank Nan Milton ANC
Herschel Gower Ian Olson Ian Hamilton Finlay Tom Nairn BBC
Len Graham Peter & Iona Opie G.S. Fraser John Reid Decca
Roy Guest Seán O'Riada Robert Garioch EFDSS
Peter Hall Roy Palmer Viv Griffiths Literature EMI
Robin Hall James Porter Douglas Hall Foreign Languages Press (China)
Dave Harker Jean Redpath Donald Hall David Daiches MCPS
Lizzie Higgins Roger deVeer Renwick T.S. Law Alasdair Gray PRS
Serge Hovey Jean Ritchie George Campbell Hay Lorn MacIntyre Scotland-USSR Friendship Society
Maud Karpeles Jeannie Robertson Nicholas Johnson Alexander McCall Smith TMSA
Alexander Keith Ian Russell Maurice Lindsay Willa Muir Topic
Peter Kennedy Willie Scott Norman McCaig John Press
Norman Kennedy Peggy Seeger Hugh MacDiarmid* Philip Toynbee